The meaning behind Hakama

On 11/01/2012 by admin

The 7 folds of the hakama (5 in the front, 2 in the back) are said to have the following symbolic meaning:

Yuki = courage, valor, bravery
Jin = humanity, charity, benevolence
Gi = justice, righteousness, integrity
Rei = etiquette, courtesy, civility (also means bow/obeisance)
Makoto = sincerity, honesty, reality
Chugi = loyalty, fidelity, devotion
Meiyo = honor, credit, glory; also reputation, dignity, prestige



Comments are closed.